kerontn.blogg.se

Bible for mac
Bible for mac









  1. #BIBLE FOR MAC FOR MAC OS X#
  2. #BIBLE FOR MAC INSTALL#
  3. #BIBLE FOR MAC UPGRADE#
  4. #BIBLE FOR MAC SOFTWARE#

#BIBLE FOR MAC FOR MAC OS X#

UPDATE 3: Here is part 5, “ Bells and Whistles.” UPDATE 4: part 6, “ More Bells and Whistles.PocketBible for Mac OS X $0.00 Description UPDATE 2: Here is part 4, a review of the Original Languages Collection. UPDATE: Parts 2 and 3 of my review are here and here. The interface in Accordance is as smooth as any program I’ve ever seen from Apple. I love seeing a high-powered Biblical languages-oriented program native to a Mac. (UPDATE 8/23/12: It’s fixed!) And the layout and its flexibility has really impressed me on first use.Īnd, oh.

#BIBLE FOR MAC INSTALL#

In sum: A quick, easy install with just that one hiccup of a missing module–soon to be resolved with a released fix, I’m sure. I look forward to spending more time exploring the various configurations available to me through Accordance. The bottom right corner shows the Hebrew text of Genesis 1.Įach of these boxes/windows are changeable and rearrangeable. Then in the top right corner I opened the LEH Greek-English Lexicon of the Septuagint, available in previous Accordance versions only as a paid, add-on module (from what I understand). In the middle you can see I have the Greek of Genesis 1 open, with the NETS right next to it and the IVP New Bible Commentary on the right of the middle section. The NETS is far from a perfect translation, but it’s the best English translation on the market right now. With how often I am in (and blogging about) the Septuagint, this makes me happy to see. Thing of beauty: it has the New English Translation of the Septuagint. On the left you can see my “library” which in this view shows some of the texts that come with the Original Languages Collection. Once finishing installation, I played around a bit with my resources, and within just a few minutes and no prior knowledge of Accordance, was able to set things up this way (click image for larger or open in new tab):

#BIBLE FOR MAC SOFTWARE#

I don’t think this is a sign of a buggy version released too soon, but rather an indication that the folks behind the software are quick, responsive, and eager to improve upon the program. I expect the Accordance team is mighty busy with the new release. Although, taking a look at the forums, I’m not alone. The only snag I hit in installation was being able to install one of the included modules, even after multiple attempts ( the BHS Latin Key). These are perhaps little things, but Accordance’s customizability seems obvious from the beginning. (Although, I confess, I don’t know what “Helvetica Neue Light” looks like off the top of my head! No matter–this can always be changed later.) This next option for text formatting immediately endeared me to Accordance: For example, I could make choices at the following spots: I appreciated the flexibility offered me even in the initial setup.

bible for mac

In 30 minutes or so I was able to download the Accordance application to my computer and the Original Languages Collection with its various modules. In a series of posts, I will offer my review of Accordance 10, Original Languages Collection. In this post I report on my installation process and initial impressions as to the program’s layout and interface.ĭownload and installation was mercifully fast, even over a wireless Internet connection. And it looks like users are pretty happy with the switch.

#BIBLE FOR MAC UPGRADE#

This week they launched an upgrade from Accordance 9 to Accordance 10. I apparently got into Accordance at just the right time. Now, thanks to the kind folks at Accordance who have given me a copy for review, I can take Accordance for a spin. (Too bad for expensive taste in that regard!) I have a cheap PC laptop at home on which I run BibleWorks, but have been interested in exploring Accordance for some time.

bible for mac

I have been an avid and happy BibleWorks user since version 7 (they are now in version 9).











Bible for mac